Home » Breast Cancer » Sweetest gift

Sweetest gift

Can't get sweeter than this

Can’t get sweeter than this

A very old breast cancer patient came to my OPD one day and started crying. She had been diagnosed with breast cancer at a hospital close to her village but because she could not afford treatment in a private hospital, she came to Delhi for free treatment. After examining her, I explained to her the treatment plan and got her investigated for surgery.

Within a couple of weeks we operated her and she went on to receive chemotherapy and radiotherapy afterwards. Following the completion of her treatment, I did not see her for a few months.

Then one day I reached the OPD slightly late as I was taking care of a sick patient in the ward and as I was approaching my room, I was greeted by the same lady with her short curly hair (this is what chemotherapy does to the hair…will write a post about this sometime later) and a wide smile on her face.

Once I settled down in my chamber, she came rushing in and put this huge packet on the table and said that it was for me. When I told her that I could not accept it, she became very sad and said that she had carried it 150 kms specially to gift it to me and insisted that I open it in front of her. I eventually gave in to her request and what I saw when I unwrapped the packet was really overwhelming. Inside it was a 2 kg fresh jaggery cake, which this lady had carried specially for me and I was very touched by her gesture. It truly was the SWEETEST GIFT I have ever received from a patient and that too from someone who was having difficulties funding her own treatment.

Sometimes the smallest gestures turn out to be the sweetest ones. 

18 thoughts on “Sweetest gift

  1. Its great that unexpected small things,add a whole new dimension to our mundane life..Sir u continue to inspire as always:)
    Rhea,
    Vmmc

    • Thank you Rhea! A cancer survivor’s smile is the best start to the day and that is what I look forward to every morning. I am glad you liked the blog.

  2. Very elevating Rohan and when dedicated work brings such human rewards then the blessings become even more bountiful….in our country the ‘Ashirwaad’ of those who have very limited means and whose lives can change by our minimal contribution is any greater than the munificence of the Almighty ! God Bless you in all you are doing !

  3. Pingback: Thankful For This Day | It Just Dawned On Me

  4. Attractive element of content. I simply stumbled upon your site and in accession capital
    to claim that I acquire actually loved account your weblog
    posts. Anyway I will be subscribing for your augment and even I fulfillment you get
    right of entry to consistently rapidly.

  5. Pingback: Mothers are the sweetest gift from GOD to us. :) | Ai Online Shop

  6. gestures make working in our field so very wonderful exciting and yet touching the chords of our soul in a fine and exquisite manner.. love this part of being a doctor and the more experiences to come this way.. like always really enjoyed reading your story and writing style.. more stories awaited sir 🙂

Leave a Reply

