Home » Random thoughts » Practice what you preach

Practice what you preach

How many doctors actually exercise regularly?? (Before you start judging whether I exercise or not, I want to highlight that I am uploading this post after finishing my daily exercise 😉  )

I often see doctors (me included) counselling patients and friends about regular exercise and a proper diet but I know for a fact that hardly any of them follow the advise themselves. In an informal survey I carried out at a hospital, I got to know that only 40% doctors exercise regularly (4-5 times a week). The number was shocking when it came to the resident doctors. Most of them blamed their hectic duty schedules and odd working hours for not exercising.

It is essential for doctors (specially surgeons – who need to stand in the OR for long periods of time) to exercise regularly not only to stay fit but also to de-stress and take their minds off work. It is a matter of habit and if one is determined, they can find time to exercise despite hectic working hours. I also manage to exercise (walk or swim) atleast 4-5 times a week and it is during my exercise time that I get more ideas to write on my blog ;-).

So doctors….get motivated and start exercising.

http://vardaan.net/news-detail-THE-ELEMENTS-OF-EXERCISE.php

Leave a Reply

